H.I.S.D.  Online Resources

Subscription resources provided for Houston ISD students by HISD

How To Use The Online Resources:

  1. Click on the icons below to access the resources from school or home. 

  2. Contact your librarians for a handout containing logins and passwords for home use or email at mburgert@houstonisd.org or mtaylor2@houstonisd.org. Be sure to include your name and homeroom in any emails.  Contact Deborah Hall for  further home access information and training on using these resources. 

ABC Clio Schools
provides resources for research in American History, World Geography, and World History including articles, primary resources, and maps, all correlated with the curriculum.

Grolier Online

is an educational portal providing access to information from many electronic sources. This online suite consists of seven databases, with the foundation being three of the best-known encyclopedias:
  • The New Book of Knowledge®: Reference and current events for elementary readers and up
  • Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia: Quick reference for middle school and high school
  • Encyclopedia Americana®: In-depth research and worldwide current events for middle school, high school, and college students
  • La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre: Complete encyclopedia for Spanish speakers and Spanish-language student
Britannica Online
New for 2007-2008!
Includes 3 encyclopedias: Britannica Elementary, Compton's, and Encyclopaedia Britannica. In addition to encyclopedias Britannica also provides Enciclopedia Juvenil, Enciclopedia Universal en Español, Global Reference Center, Annal of American History, World Data Analyst, and Webster's Third International Dictionary, unabridged. For training materials, click here.

United Streaming
is a digital video-based learning resource from Discovery Education. Educators gain on-demand access to 50,000 content-specific segments from 5,000 full-length educational videos- including more than 1,000 new videos in subject areas including foreign language, secondary math, science, and language arts. This resource requires a unique login for each user. You may obtain a login kit from your librarian or your tech coordinator.
(Only teachers may set up accounts for classroom use.)

    

 
To use this resource, first choose an HISD high school, then enter the password for all resources.

Thompson Gale
Provides access to 3 products: Literature Resource Center, Student Resource Center Gold and Testing and Education Reference Center. Literature Resource Center provides students  with access to traditional literary reference works, critical information on authors and their works, and current journal articles. Student Reference Center Gold provides biographies, essays, full-text magazines, glossaries, historical overviews, photographs, audio files to answer research needs. Testing & Education Reference Center helps users prepare for higher education and the working world by providing access to information on colleges and universities, majors, careers, and testing. It also features interactive online practice tests for preparatory examinations including entrance exams and certification and licensing tests.

Ebsco Host
This comprehensive on-line EBSCO package provides students and educators access to multiple databases simultaneously though five interfaces: Searchasaurus, Kids Search, Student Research Center, EBSCO Host, History and Science Reference Centers, a several other subject databases.

netTrekker
organizes web sites around the K–12 curricula. All sites are evaluated for academic integrity and age appropriateness before they are considered. Users can search by grade level. Resources are aligned with the state standards.

Proquest
provides access to 4 products: E-Curriculum Library, History Study Center, Proquest:Literature, and Historical Newspapers. E-Curriculum Library provides answers from more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, reference books, and transcripts-plus thousands of pictures, maps, educator-approved websites, and  audio/video content.   Historical Newspapers offers a unique collection of primary source historical documents featuring back issues of the New York Times.   

Teaching Books
makes available original, in-studio movies of authors and illustrators, audio excerpts of professional book readings, guides to thousands of titles and a wealth of multimedia resources on children's and young adult literature


for teachers only

Wilson Web
provides professional journals and entire articles on many subjects related to education.

 

  

 

               
     Home- Library/ Pershing Middle School / Houston ISD/ Library Services Dept
               
Webmaster: mburgert@houstonisd.org
                  Last modified 2/28/2008